BOARD POLICY DEVELOPMENT

Faculty-Administration-Board Policy Committee

- 1. The district policy committee will consist of 15 advisors to the superintendent of schools and in turn to the Board of Education. The Committee's purpose is to help formulate policy for the district.
- 2. Members of the policy committee shall include one teacher and one administrator from each level, elementary (K-4), intermediate (5-6) junior high (7-8), and high school (9-12), one teacher at large, (traveling teachers art, music, PE and special education) a representative of the classified employees, president of the Sweetwater Education Association, administrative representative of the Administration Building, President of the Administrator's Organization, and one Board Member. The meeting shall be presided over by the Director of Human Resources who is in charge of keeping the policies up to date. (Buildings may send non-voting observers, to enhance communication, but these are not members of the Policy Committee.)
- 3. Teachers shall be elected by the teachers in the buildings. A classified representative shall be elected by ballot of classified personnel in the district.
- 4. The committee may exercise the option of the secret ballot at its meeting.
- 5. The elected committee members will be selected in the first week in May of each even numbered year listed below. Elected members will serve four years and appointed members will serve one year. The elected members will be chosen according to the following schedule:

Elementary Teacher 2006 Elementary Administrator 2008 Intermediate Teacher 2008 Intermediate Administrator 2006 Classified Representative 2008 Junior High Teacher 2006 Junior High Administrator 2008 High School Teacher 2008 High School Administrator 2006 Teacher at Large 2006

Issued and approved by the Board 10/22/73 Revised and approved by the Board 04/24/78 Revised and approved by the Board 04/27/81 Revised and approved by the Board 06/09/86 Revised and approved by the Board 03/14/88 Revised 4/13/05

School District #1, Sweetwater County, Wyoming