SCHOOL DISTRICT LEGAL STATUS

The legal basis for education in Wyoming is vested in the will of the people as expressed in the Constitution of the State of Wyoming, the statutes pertaining to education, court interpretation of these laws, and the powers implied under them.

The Constitution of the State of Wyoming charges the legislature to provide for the establishment and maintenance of a complete and uniform system of public instruction. In carrying out this mandate, the legislature has provided for the state to be divided into unified school districts, each to offer an educational program from kindergarten or grade one through grade twelve.

The official name of this district is Sweetwater County School District Number One, State of Wyoming.

Historical Note: School District #1 has resulted from a reorganization of county school districts. In 1969 District #4 (Rock Springs District) merged with District #1 to form a new District #1. In 1971, the Sweetwater County Schools were again reorganized by dividing the county primarily into two districts, #1 and #2. The present District #1 includes the cities and towns of Rock Springs, Reliance, Superior, Eden-Farson, and Wamsutter.

Statutory

LEGAL REFS.: Wyoming Constitution, Art. 7, par. 1 W.S. 21.1-17, 21.1-20, 21.1-107(c), 21.1-108, 21.1-109(a) and (b) Wyoming Education Policies Reference Manual, code AA

CROSS REF.: BB, School Board Legal Status